OWASP Risk Assessment Model

Talking in the chat about the need to formalize the risk assessment model that we use for communication of vulnerabilities. There is a potential need to reduce or redefine certain qualities of the traditional model to account for specific qualities of crypto networks e.g. openness, access control of assets, etc.

Some think that there is no need to reformalize the model at all, that a formal definition of “Impact” vs “Likelihood” is completely use-case/application specific.

My opinion on the Risk Assessment Model. I am an aerospace guy and this process is very much derived from existing aerospace processes. But, I am no expert in Blockchain software, so this is just my starting opinion.

The risk model is the most important improvement we will do on the existing guidelines. It will allow us to define a level of risk on an element of software. Software elements that have high levels of risk will have more rigid guidelines to follow (meaning more documentation and testing). Breaking down these last two sentences and you have the tasks to accomplish.

1. We must define the different levels of risk for Solidity smart contracts. How many levels will there be? How do we define each level? We must define a clear process that an auditor or developer can use to determine the risk level for their software.
  2. We must define the elements of software on on which a risk is defined. Is it a method or a contract or something else?
  3. Will the guidelines recommend a more rigid process for software that has been defined as high risk? For example, it could require 100% code coverage or an additional set of static tools. Or perhaps it is just labeling giving awareness to the developer and the auditor without changing the development or documentation process. This should be defined.

Excerpting from Telegram: